Les Halles (default image)

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Brussels —

Splash timer
27.01 > 07.02.21

F.A.C.E.S

Exhibition

Mucyo

Dates

Wednesday 27 January 2021 14:00
Thursday 28 January 2021 14:00
Friday 29 January 2021 14:00
Saturday 30 January 2021 14:00
Sunday 31 January 2021 14:00
Tuesday 02 February 2021 14:00
Wednesday 03 February 2021 14:00
Thursday 04 February 2021 14:00
Friday 05 February 2021 14:00
Saturday 06 February 2021 14:00
Sunday 07 February 2021 14:00

ACCESS WITH THE ENTRANCE TO THE EXHIBITION GREAT BLACK MUSIC

Mucyo is a French-Rwandan visual artist who has developed a unique style based on the process of "decolourisation" or "bleaching" by bleach, a technique he perfected during his studies in Fine Arts at the University of Paris 8.

By creating his own pictorial universe (influenced by graffiti and immersed in African Art since his childhood), Mucyo creates movements and figures magnified by the bleach, giving a "vintage" side, a sensation of fire explosion on all his subjects.

These canvases cannot be reproduced due to the complexity that mixes chemistry and the unpredictability of bleach in the traces it leaves.

Mucyo is shared between Africa, Europe and Asia. Curious and open-minded, he also tries his hand at video.

After a remarkable exhibition at the Café Congo in Brussels in the summer 2020, he comes back at the Halles de Schaerbeek with his exhibition F.A.C.E.S, an ode to the outstanding figures of black music and the struggle for civil rights.

 

*The exhibition is free and open to all holders of a valid Great Black Music entry. It is therefore the day you visit Great Black Music that you will be able to see the paintings.