Les Halles de Schaerbeek
— Brussels —

Splash timer
27.09.24 | 22:00 | 40'


Cathy Blisson & Amaury Vanderborght


Friday 27 September 2024 22:00 Free entrance

It is in the city of Liuyang, China, that most of the fireworks that make up crowd-pleasing displays around the world are produced.

Starting from their own pictures from Chinese pyrotechnic factories, together with choreographic sequences gleaned from YouTube, Amaury Vanderborght and Cathy Blisson create an open-air show that skirts the boundaries of film performance, musico-visual trip and firework display.

Playing around with the metronomic dimension of the images, the duo calls into question the mechanics behind the use of the device of entertainment as a weapon of mass distraction.

National commemorations, sports events, pop concerts and other mass ritual gatherings... What images and symbolism are drowned out for us amid the smokescreen of the spectacle of these explosions?

Direction artistique : Cathy Blisson et Amaury Vanderborght | Travail sonore : Cathy Blisson | Recherches musicales : Amaury Vanderborght | Images documentaires Liuyang : Dino Sze Lung | Traduction documentaire Liuyang : Wan Lun Yu | Réalisation vidéo : Super Tchip | Montage : Yoann Stehr et Maxime Jouret | Conception pyrotechnique : Édouard Grégoire et Gabriel Legrand | Pyrotechnie : Arteventia | Régie de tournée : Sarah Foubert | Contribution artistique : Marco Cendron | Chargé·es de production : Steven Cayrasso et Agathe Cornez | Chargé de production et de développement : Philippe Naulot | Un production de PAL/SECAM en production déléguée avec les Halles de Schaerbeek | Coproductions : Les Halles de Schaerbeek (BE) ; La Rose des Vents, scène nationale Lille Métropole Villeneuve d’Ascq (FR) ; Factory international (UK) ; Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER (BE) ; Le PALC, Pôle National Cirque (FR) ; Compagnie du Poivre Rose (BE). | Avec le soutien du West Kowloon Cultural District (HK) et Theater op de Markt (BE), Wallonie -Bruxelles International (WBI) et le Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.