Les Halles (default image)

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Brussels —

Splash timer
27.03.20 20:00

Et la terre se transmet comme la langue

F.Tortiller / E.Sanbar

Dates

Friday 27 March 2020 20:00

Mahmoud Darwich, the voice of Palestine, used to call himself the ‘Trojan poet’, whose mission was to tell the forgotten story of a defeated city. He had to compose, dig deep in time to find an Odyssey about loss and the return home; he told the story of the day when the ‘Trojans’ – his people this time – transformed, powerful, wise and singing would return home after their exile. Et la terre comme la langue is this Odyssey, the long-lost song of those who grew stronger after they lost everything.
Elias Sanbar, a friend and translator of Darwich, pays a vibrant homage to his friend with composer and vibraphonist Franck Tortiller. Together, they perform a jazzy oratorio for narrator and small orchestra. Lyrical, unique, perfect in its imperfection, the concert alternates between improvisation and rehearsed pieces : a perfect scansion, as free and passionate as the bard’s song.

Distributions : Poème – Mahmoud Darwich | Dominique Devals – soprano | Elias Sanbar – lecteur | Franck Tortiller – vibraphone, composition | Yves Torchinsky – contrebasse | Misja Fitzgerald Michel – guitare | Patrice Héral – percussions et voix | Joël Chausse – trompette, bugle | Maxime Berton – saxophones, flûte
Production déléguée : Le Volcan, Scène nationale du Havre, Musiques à ciel ouvert

Les Halles (default image)

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Bruxelles —

Splash timer
27.03.20 20:00

Et la terre se transmet comme la langue

F.Tortiller / E.Sanbar

Dates

Vendredi 27 mars 2020 20:00

Grande voix de la Palestine, Mahmoud Darwich se disait « poète troyen », requis de retrouver l’épopée perdue d’une cité vaincue. Il lui fallait composer, faire ressurgir des flots du temps, l’Odyssée d’une perte et le récit d’un retour au port, le jour où les « Troyens », les siens cette fois, transformés, riches de la force, de la sagesse et de la capacité du chant, rentreraient au terme de leur long voyage forcé. Et la terre comme la langue est cette Odyssée, le chant retrouvé de ceux qui, dans la perte, acquirent la force des dépassements.
Ami et traducteur de Mahmoud Darwich, Elias Sanbar porte avec le compositeur et vibraphoniste Franck Tortiller un hommage au poète qui prend la forme d’une sorte d’oratorio jazz pour récitants et petit orchestre. Lyrique, contrastée, jouant d’aspérités, la musique évolue entre moments écrits et moments improvisés, dans une scansion aussi libre et fougueuse que le chant de l’aède.

Distributions : Poème – Mahmoud Darwich | Dominique Devals – soprano | Elias Sanbar – lecteur | Franck Tortiller – vibraphone, composition | Yves Torchinsky – contrebasse | Misja Fitzgerald Michel – guitare | Patrice Héral – percussions et voix | Joël Chausse – trompette, bugle | Maxime Berton – saxophones, flûte
Production déléguée : Le Volcan, Scène nationale du Havre, Musiques à ciel ouvert