Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Brussels —

Splash timer

Matthieu Goeury appointed director of Halles de Schaerbeek

On the proposal of the jury, which deliberated on September 13, the Board of Directors of Les Halles de Schaerbeek, which met on September 19, appointed Matthieu Goeury to the management of the place. Currently artistic coordinator at the Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER (ex-Vooruit), he will take up his post in January 2023.

Started in May, the recruitment procedure was in line with the new decree of December 2021, including the presence as an observer of a member of the administration of Culture of the Walloon-Brussels Federation.

Consisting of three members of the board and six external members, the majority of whom are women (Fabienne Aucant, Françoise Bloch, Bérénice Masset, Sophie Pène, Reynaldo Ramperssad, Dorine Rurashitse), the jury studied the 22 applications received at the beginning of July and came up with a shortlist of four names. On the basis of an orientation note, the selected candidates submitted a project at the end of August, which they then had to defend in an oral presentation.

The jury selected Matthieu Goeury's project. In line with the founding spirit of Les Halles, whose contemporary roots must be constantly reinvented, this project sets out, in five major "in progress" projects, a series of artistic and societal issues in line with the main concerns of the cultural world.

After studying English literature, Matthieu Goeury began his career as a producer of musical and stage projects. He then worked at L'L, as well as at the Centre Pompidou-Metz, and joined the Vooruit programming team in 2011, before becoming its artistic coordinator in 2015.

Matthieu Goeury "I am delighted to join the Halles de Schaerbeek team and to be able to contribute to the rich history of its project. I wish to develop an ambitious and generous project in collaboration with many cultural and associative partners. Artists from the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and elsewhere will be able to use the Halles as a unique tool to create projects on the scale of the Great Hall, in particular musical shows and parties. My project is a call to the hyper-diverse youth of Brussels to take over the place!"

"I leave the Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER with the feeling of collective success. Under my artistic coordination, the programming and the team have diversified and we have managed to transform the Cultural Institution into a generous and ambitious platform. I am confident that the current team will continue this excellent work."

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Bruxelles —

Splash timer

Matthieu Goeury nommé à la direction des Halles de Schaerbeek

Sur proposition du jury, qui a délibéré le 13 septembre, le Conseil d’Administration des Halles de Schaerbeek réuni ce 19 septembre nomme Matthieu Goeury à la direction du lieu. Actuellement coordinateur artistique au Viernulvier (ex-Vooruit) il prendra ses fonctions en janvier 2023.

Entamée en mai, la procédure de recrutement s’est inscrite dans le cadre du nouveau décret de décembre 2021, incluant la présence à titre d’observateur d’un membre de l’administration de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Constitué de trois membres du bureau et de six membres externes, à majorité féminine (Fabienne Aucant, Françoise Bloch, Bérénice Masset, Sophie Pène, Reynaldo Ramperssad, Dorine Rurashitse), le jury avait étudié début juillet les 22 candidatures reçues, pour aboutir à une short-list paritaire de 4 noms. Sur la base d’une note d’orientation, les candidat.e.s retenues ont remis fin août un projet qu’il leur fallait ensuite défendre à l’oral.

Le jury a retenu le projet de Matthieu Goeury. En phase avec l’esprit fondateur des Halles, dont il faut réinventer en permanence l’ancrage contemporain, ce projet décline en cinq grands chantiers « in progress » un ensemble d’enjeux artistiques et sociétaux en adéquation avec les préoccupations principales du monde culturel.

Après des études en littératures anglophone, Mathieu Goeury a d’abord développé des projets musicaux. Passé ensuite par L’L et Bruxelles Bravo, ainsi que par le Centre Pompidou Metz, Matthieu Goeury a rejoint l’équipe de programmation du Vorruit en 2011, avant d’en devenir le coordinateur artistique en 2015.

Matthieu Goeury :  “Je me réjouis de rejoindre l’équipe des Halles de Schaerbeek et de pouvoir contribuer à la riche histoire de son projet. Je souhaite développer un projet ambitieux et généreux en collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires culturels et associatifs. Les artistes de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et d’ailleurs pourront utiliser les Halles comme un outil unique où créer des projets à l’échelle de la Grande Halle, notamment des spectacles musicaux et des fêtes. Mon projet est un appel à l’hyper-diverse jeunesse bruxelloise à s’emparer du lieu!”.

“Je quitte le Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER avec le sentiment d’une réussite collective. Sous ma coordination artistique, la programmation et l’équipe se sont diversifiées et nous avons réussi à transformer l’Institution Culturelle en plateforme généreuse et ambitieuse. Je suis convaincu que l’équipe en place continuera cet excellent travail.”