Les Halles (default image)

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Brussels —

Splash timer

In.Vulnerability

A proof of existance by ifHuman

Conceived by Gaia Saitta, director associated with the Halles de Schaerbeek, by Charlie Cattrall, filmmaker, and Giuliana Rienzi, set designer, this film took as its challenge the first confinement, between March and May 2020.

It is not a documentary on confinement or the virus, but a participatory creation, aiming to find a way to be humane in times of forced isolation.

Since it was impossible to bring together directly the inhabitants and artists of Brussels, a call for participation was launched via the social networks of the Halles de Schaerbeek and their relays. The response exceeded our expectations, just as social networks transcend borders.

The first participants returned the call and, as Brussels is a multicultural city, videos arrived from all over the world, for a total of more than 30 hours of material. A series of simple actions were requested from each participant. A series of actions to deal with the extreme situation of individual loneliness and collective powerlessness.

From several hundred very different videos emanates a common narrative, showing the instinct of contact, living intact in our bodies, the unspoken need to define ourselves through and through the other, beyond the distances that were (and still are) imposed on us. Making this film is like offering our humanity a common skin, vast and diverse, magnificently contradictory, which, despite the impediment of contact, never ceases to touch, caress, rub, hurt, sweat, breathe.

With the support of Cocof, a first half-hour version of this film is offered to you by Gaia Saitta's company, If Human, which is also working on a long version and a video-installation device, to share all these testimonies, addressed with a grace, generosity and sincerity that has moved us.

Les Halles de Schaerbeek — Bruxelles —

Splash timer

In.Vulnerability

A proof of existance by ifHuman

Conçu par Gaia Saitta, metteuse en scène associée aux Halles de Schaerbeek, par Charlie Cattrall, cinéaste, et Giuliana Rienzi, scénographe, ce film a pris pour enjeu le premier confinement, entre Mars et Mai 2020.

Il ne s’agit pas d’un documentaire sur le confinement ou le virus, mais d’une création participative, visant à retrouver une manière de faire humanité en temps d’isolement forcé.

Puisqu’il était impossible de réunir directement les habitants et artistes de Bruxelles, un appel à participation a été lancé via les réseaux sociaux des Halles de Schaerbeek et de leurs relais. La réponse a dépassé nos attentes, comme les réseaux sociaux dépassent les frontières.

Les premiers participants ont renvoyé l’appel et, comme Bruxelles est une ville multiculturelle, des vidéos sont arrivées d’un peu partout dans le monde, pour un total de plus de 30 heures de matière. Une série d’actions simples était demandé à chaque participant. Une série d’actions pour faire face à la situation extrême de solitude individuelle et d'impuissance collective.

De plusieurs centaines de vidéos très différentes émane une narration commune, montrant l’instinct de contact, vivant intact dans nos corps, le besoin inentamé de se définir grâce et à travers l'autre, au-delà des distances qui nous étaient (et sont encore) imposées. Monter ce film, c’est comme offrir à notre humanité une peau commune, vaste et diverse, magnifiquement contradictoire, qui, malgré l’empêchement des contacts, ne cesse de toucher, caresser, frotter, se blesser, transpirer, respirer.

Avec le soutien de la Cocof, une première version d’une demie-heure de ce film vous est offerte par la compagnie de Gaia Saitta, If Human, qui travaille également à une version longue et à un dispositif de vidéo-installation, pour partager tous ces témoignages, adressées avec une grâce, une générosité et une sincérité qui nous a bouleversé.